Minutes of the Annual General Body Meeting

Date: 20 September 2013, 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM

Number of members present: 18

- 1). Manju Bansal, 2). Debnath Pal, 3). P. S. Mukherjee, 4) Sashikumaar Ganesan, 5). S. S. Hasan 6). Dipshikha Chakravortty 7). K. R. Prasad 8). Meheboob Alam 9). G. Mugesh 10). Phoolan Prasad 11). Prabal K Maiti 12). Arnab Rai Choudhuri 13). R. T. Gangadhara 14). T. Govindaraju 15). Balaji Jagirdar 16). B. C. Ghosh 17). Biman Nath 18). M. S. Mohan Kumar
 - Prof. Manju Bansal updated all the members on the activities of the Humboldt Association after welcoming the new members. In particular, Prof. Bansal informed the visit of Dr. Thomas Hesse (vice president of AvH foundation), Dr. Judith Schild's (Advisor) and Dy Consul General Mr. Loeffler to IISc on 29th of October 2012. Also, she thanked the AvH foundation for the support to the speakers, Prof. Lutz Tobiska and Prof. Gautam R. Desiraju, of the AvH association annual day lecture, which held on 20 September between 15:00 and 17:00 Hrs.
 - Prof. Bansal proposed to hold a Humboldt Kolleg as one of the event for next year, preferably around September next year. There was a general discussion among all members and decided to have a Kolleg in the areas of Computational science. Further, it has been decided that Prof. Debnath Pal and another member will coordinate the Humboldt Kolleg. Moreover, the venue will be IISc, Bangalore. However, the number of days are not finalized.
 - Dr. Sashikumaar Ganesan, secretary of the association presented his report for the year. He informed the admission of a new member (Prof. M. S. Mohan Kumar) to the Association. Also, he mentioned that an email has been sent to a group of thirty two AvH alumni to request to become a member of the association.
 - It was unanimously decided that the present set of office bearers: Prof. Manju Bansal (President), Dr. Debnath Pal (Vice President), Dr. Sashikumaar Ganesan (Secretary), Prof. P.S. Mukherjee, (Treasurer) will continue for another year.