Minutes of the Annual General Body Meeting

Date: September 7, 2011, 15:30-17:00 at Room 102, SERC, Indian Institute of Science

Number of members present: 10

1). Siraj Hasan (President), 2). Manju Bansal (Vice-president), 3). Debnath Pal (Secretary), 4). Phoolan Prasad, 5). Akhil R. Chakravarty, 6). Arnab Rai Choudhuri, 7). Prabal Maiti, 8). Biman Nath, 9). Vidyanand Nanjundiah, 10). C. Ranganayakulu

- Prof. S. S. Hasan welcomed the members and updated them on the past one-and-half year's activities. The activities included the Annual lectures by Prof. Laurent Gizon (Title: Seismology of the Sun and the Sun-like Stars) from Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, Germany, and Prof. Vidyanand Nanjundiah (Title: The biological roots of altruism) from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. The successful organization of the Humboldt Kolleg on "Self Organized Criticality (Feb 2-5, 2011) was also highlighted.
- It was decided in the meeting that a formal "Article of Association" for our organization would be formulated and presented in the next Annual General Meeting.
- There was a discussion on how to attract more Humboldt Fellows to our organization. It was decided that our local database would be updated with the latest information from the AvH website and new fellows would approached to join the Association.
- There was discussion on how to increase activities of the association by including more events, especially academic and social.
 - It was proposed that we explore the possibility of a Humboldt Network Prize Group
 - Host more German academics
 - Have one or more lectures hosted at Max Mueller Bhavan (MMB) jointly with MMB.
- It was agreed that corporate sponsorship from German companies can be accepted if need arises.
- Prof. Debnath Pal presented the Statement of Accounts on behalf of Prof. G. Mugesh. There was no expenditure over the past year. It was decided that two new 3-year term deposits of Rs. 10000 and Rs. 5000 would be made from the current balance of Rs 20006.
- Prof. Debnath Pal presented his secretary's report by summarizing the activities during his term, which included organization of the Annual Day Lectures for all years since 2008, except for this year, and also the Humboldt Kolleg. Six new members joined the Association during this period.
- Prof. Hasan proposed Prof. Manju Bansal's name as the new President of the AvH Association, Bangalore. The proposal was seconded by Prof. Arnab Rai Chaudhuri and Prof. Phoolan Prasad and unanimously agreed by all members. Prof. Bansal proposed the following members as office bearers, which was agreed by all members. Prof. Debnath Pal (Vice-President), Prof. Parthasarathi Mukherjee (Treasurer), Dr. Sasikumar Ganesan (Secretary), Dr. Mehboob Alam (Member), Dr. C. Ranganayakulu (Member), Dr. R. T. Gangadhara (Member) and Prof. Biman Nath (Member). Prof. S. S. Hasan (Immediate Past President). The minimum term of the office bearers is two years.
- The newly elected President Prof. Bansal proposed a vote of thanks acknowledging the fine work done by the previous Committee and expressing her gratitude for the confidence placed in her by the Association.