"Alexander von Humboldt Association, Bangalore"

1 Introduction

Three Humboldtians, Prof. Dr. Phoolan Prasad (Department of Mathematics, IISc), Prof. Dr. A. R. Chakravarty (Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry, IISc) and Prof. Dr. Arnab Rai Choudhuri (Department of Physics, IISc), have taken the initiative to start an association for Humboldtians in Bangalore. In this regard Prof. Dr. Rai Choudhuri had sent an email message (9th March, 2004) to all Humboldtians, in Bangalore and requested them to assemble in the Physics Lecture Hall I (IISc) on Thursday (11th March, 2004) at 3:30 PM. Due to the shortage of time, only those Humbolatins were contacted who had e-mail addresses. There are several others who need to be contacted later.

2 Minutes of the First Meeting of AvHA, Bangalore on 11 March, 2004

Out of about 50 Humboldtians, the following eleven Humboldtians attended this meeting on 11th March, 2004, and their signatures were taken. Many Humboltians sent emails supporting the formation of the Association though they could not attend the meeting.

- 1. Dr. Meheboob Alam, Jawaharlal Nehru Center for Advanced Scientific Research (JN-CASR), Bangalore 560064
- 2. Prof. Dr. A. R. Chakravarty, Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry, IISc, Bangalore 560012
- 3. Prof. Dr. Arnab Rai Choudhuri, Department of Physics, IISc, Bangalore 560012
- 4. Dr. B. R. Jagirdar, Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry, IISc, Bangalore 560012
- 5. Prof. Dr. J. M. Modak, Department of Chemical Engineering, IISc, Bangalore 560012
- 6. Prof. Dr. M. S. Mohan Kumar, Department of Civil Engineering, IISc, Bangalore 560012
- 7. Dr. Biman Nath, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore 560080
- 8. Dr. K. R. Prasad, Department of Organic Chemistry, IISc, Bangalore 560012
- 9. Prof. Dr. Phoolan Prasad, Department of Mathematics, IISc, Bangalore 560012

- 10. Dr. C. Ranganayakulu, Aeronautical Development Agency, Bangalore 560017
- 11. Prof. Dr. A. G. Samuelson, Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry, IISc, Bangalore 560012

Prof. Dr. Rai Choudhuri welcomed all the Humboldtians, and Prof. Dr. Phoolan Prasad then took over to run the proceedings. The following **resolutions** were passed in this meeting:

2.1 Resolution

"We have unanimously decided to start the Alexander von Humboldt Association, Bangalore"

2.2 Resolution on Office Bearers

We have agreed upon the following Humboldtians to be the founding office bearers:

President: Prof. Dr. Goverdhan Mehta, Director, Indian Institute of Science

Vice President: Prof. Dr. Phoolan Prasad, Dept. of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Science

Treasurer: Prof. Dr. A. R. Chakravarty, Dept. of IPC, Indian Institute of Science

General Secretary: Dr. Meheboob Alam, JNCASR

2.3 Resolution on Bank Account

We have agreed to open a bank account in the name of "AvH Association Account" at Canara Bank, IISc, Bangalore 560012. We have also agreed that the account be operated by the Treasurer and one of other three office bearers.

2.4 Resolution on Membership Fee

We have agreed that there will be only life members of the Association. The contribution for life membership of AvHA would be based on the following two categories:

Humboldt Fellows below 60 years of age: Rs. 1000.00

Humboldt Fellows above 60 years of age: Rs. 500.00

3 Inauguration of AvHA, Bangalore

There was a discussion on this and it was agreed that the formal inauguration ceremony of the Alexander von Humboldt Association, Bangalore will be held in the Faculty Hall, IISc on April 20, 2004. This will be followed by two talks for general audience:

- 1. "Scientific Computation" by Prof. Dr. Volker Schultz, University of Trier, Germany
- 2. The second talk will be delivered by a scientist from Bangalore

4 Address for correspondence

It was agreed that the address of the AvH Association, Bangalore will be:

c/o Prof. Phoolan Prasad, Vice President Department of Mathematics Indian Institute of Science Bangalore 560012

March 11, 2004